Caramel Cupcakes

Slowly but surely my blog is turning into a shrine full of yummy sugar filled recipes, which I’m definitely okay with. This is a recipe that I’ve never tried before, and they are a much thicker gooier cake than I usually make which was an unexpected change. My brother, one of my most keen cake tasters, loved these and said they slightly reminded him of sticky toffee cakes so if you like that you’ll probably like these.

IMG_0372 IMG_0370 IMG_0365 IMG_0382

Ingredients.

  • 100g milk/dark chocolate
  • 145g butter
  • 145g brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 155ml milk
  • 125g plain flour
  • 40g self-raising flour
  • 1 egg lightly beaten
  1. Melt the butter, chocolate, sugar, syrup, and milk in a saucepan, on a low heat, until smooth. Leave to cool for a few minutes.
  2. Add the plain flour and self-raising flour to the saucepan and stir well. I would recommend sieving this as I ended up having a few lumps in my mixture.
  3. Next beat the egg and stir into the mixture.
  4. You may have quite a runny mixture so transfer the mixture into a jug so it’s easier to pour the cake mixture into paper cake cases. Then bake the in the oven for 20 minutes.
  5. To make the icing I mixed together butter and icing sugar, keep adding icing sugar until it tastes to your liking and then add in a few tablespoons of tinned caramel to make the icing smoother and taste amazing.
  6. Add the icing however you like, piping or just spread it on and if you have any caramel drops or chocolate to grate on top, the more the merrier. When I made these I added half a tablespoon of the tinned caramel under my icing to make it even yummier.
  7. Enjoy!

IMG_0403 IMG_0409 (1) IMG_0410 (1) IMG_0412

IMG_0417

4 thoughts on “Caramel Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

